DWI / OWI / DUI / OVWI FAQ
Driving while impaired is a serious crime. For legal representation which will ensure that your rights are preserved, contact us for a free initial consultation.
Feel free to browse our frequently asked questions about Indiana DWI law below (disclaimer).
What are the possible penalties?
Judgments vary from misdemeanor to felony charges. Fines range from $500 to as much as $10,000. Imprisonment can range anywhere from zero (0) days to eight years. In addition, your driver's license may be suspended from zero (0) days up to two years.
What is HTV?
The term HTV stands for Habitual Traffic Violator. It's a term used by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to designate a person with a history of frequent traffic related violations. If you drive while being classified as an HTV, your driving privileges could be suspended for life.
Fortunately a new Indiana Law allows for Specialized Driving Priviliges (SPD) which can "trump" most suspensions, thereby providing specialized driving privileges, which may have conditions (e.g. to/from work, school, etc.) or may not have any restrictions other than that you maintain SR22 insurance. Contact us today for a free evaluation.
What are the per se Blood Alcohol limits in Indiana?
A BAC of .08 to .15 is a Class C misdemeanor, while a BAC of .15 or greater is a Class A misdemeanor. The BAC thresholds vary according to age and type of license.
For Adult drivers over 21 -anything .08 or higher will result in an OWI arrest and charges. For drivers under 21, in addition to the .08 threshold for an OWI, there is a .02 threshold. For an under 21 driver, driving with a BAC between .02 and .08 will result in a ticket for a Class C infraction and a possible license suspension for up to one (1) year.
For commercial drivers, “Driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol," results with results of .04 and above. Other rules prevent CDL drivers from even having a single drink within hours before driving.